Updated 1 November 2026
Best E-Bikes Under $2,500 in Australia (2026)
8 of the 9 e-bikes in our catalogue are priced at $2,500 or less on Amazon Australia (from $1,390.00 to $2,299.00), and the quick comparison below lists all 8. The NCM T7s Step-Thru ($2,799.00) is above that limit, so it isn't covered here — and as it's our only city e-bike, this guide has no city pick.
Quick comparison
Scroll sideways to see every column.
| Model | Type | Price | Power (declared) | Top speed (declared) | Battery | Range (claimed) | Weight | Reviews |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shengmilo S600pro Dual-Motor Electric Mountain Bike | Mountain | $2,299.00 as of 8 Oct 2026 | 2,000 W | 25 km/h* | 1,200 Wh | 50 km | 35 kg | 4.3(48) |
| SAMEBIKE RS-A02 Plus Foldable Electric Bike | Folding | $1,690.00$1,890.00 as of 8 Oct 2026 | 2,400 W peak | 45 km/h* | 816 Wh | 105 km | 33 kg | 5.0(2) |
| NCM Aspen Fat Electric Bike | Mountain | $1,899.00 as of 8 Oct 2026 | 250 W | 25 km/h | 624 Wh | Not stated | 38 kg | 4.4(7) |
| Shengmilo S600 Dual-Motor Electric Bike | Mountain | $2,299.00 as of 8 Oct 2026 | Not stated | 25 km/h | 840 Wh | 45 km | 35 kg | 5.0(8) |
| QIKAITU Road Legal Electric Bike (K800) | Mountain | $2,139.00 as of 1 Nov 2026 | Not stated | 50 km/h* | 1,104 Wh | 120 km | 33 kg | 5.0(3) |
| NCM Prague Electric Mountain Bike | Mountain | $1,499.00 as of 8 Oct 2026 | 250 W | 25 km/h | 468 Wh | 96 km | 25 kg | 4.7(3) |
| SAMEBIKE LO26 Plus Folding Electric Bike | Folding | $1,490.00 as of 8 Oct 2026 | 2,000 W peak | Not stated | 720 Wh | 110 km | 30.5 kg | 5.0(2) |
| SAMEBIKE LOTDM200-II Folding Electric Bike | Folding | $1,390.00 as of 8 Oct 2026 | 1,500 W peak | 25 km/h | 624 Wh | 50 km | 28 kg | 5.0(1) |
Prices are indicative, captured on the date shown — always confirm the current price on Amazon. Figures are as stated on each listing (or, where a bike’s page says so, the manufacturer’s spec sheet), not our own measurements; “Not stated” means the listing doesn’t give that figure, and we don’t estimate it.
“Peak” means the listing quotes peak power, which isn’t the continuous rating used in Australian e-bike rules. Range claims are best-case figures measured under different conditions; each bike’s page has the note on its figure. Declared power and speed are what the listings say, not a statement about whether a bike is legal to ride.
* Shengmilo S600pro Dual-Motor Electric Mountain Bike top speed: electronically limited to 25 km/h on this AU listing for road compliance; 45 km/h unrestricted per manufacturer spec.
* SAMEBIKE RS-A02 Plus Foldable Electric Bike top speed: 25-45 km/h depending on riding mode; use the lower range for unregistered road/path riding.
* QIKAITU Road Legal Electric Bike (K800) top speed: 50 km/h is likely to exceed unregistered e-bike speed limits in most Australian states — check local rules.
We then picked 4 bikes for different riders using three things from the Amazon listing: the price shown (with the date we checked it), the real review count, and the specs the listing states. Every figure comes from our product data, and anything a listing doesn't state is marked "Not stated" rather than estimated. We haven't ridden these bikes — the picks rest on listing data and review counts, so read the review warnings under each one. Prices were last checked between 8 October 2026 and 1 November 2026 (the date sits beside each price), not on the day this guide was updated, so confirm today's price on Amazon.

Shengmilo
Shengmilo S600pro Dual-Motor Electric Mountain Bike
A full-suspension electric mountain bike with dual hub motors and a large 1200Wh battery, aimed at riders who want serious off-road capability rather than a city cruiser with fat tyres.
Why we picked the Shengmilo S600pro Dual-Motor Electric Mountain Bike
Why it's here: it's the only e-bike in our catalogue listed with full suspension (front fork plus rear shock), it has the largest battery (1,200Wh) and it has the most reviews of any e-bike here (48, averaging 4.3 stars). It costs $2,299.00 as of 8 October 2026. It's a 35kg mountain bike rather than a commuter, and its quoted power is 2,000W (2×1000W per the manufacturer, combined) — far above the 250W figure in the national standard — so read the legal section below before you buy.
Declared figures, as noted in our data
- Power
- 2,000W — dual hub motors, 2×1000W per manufacturer spec (combined); AU listing caps speed at 25 km/h
- Top speed
- 25 km/h — electronically limited to 25 km/h on this AU listing for road compliance; 45 km/h unrestricted per manufacturer spec
- Range
- 50km — 50km pure electric / 90km+ pedal-assist per manufacturer's official spec sheet (not listed on the AU Amazon page itself)
- Battery and weight
- 1,200Wh battery, 35kg
✓Pros
- Full suspension (front fork + rear shock) for genuine off-road comfort
- Largest battery in our catalogue: 1,200Wh
- Most-reviewed e-bike here: 48 reviews averaging 4.3 stars
- Hydraulic disc brakes, front and rear
- Local Australian warehouse and official brand store on Amazon
✕Cons
- This listing electronically limits speed to 25 km/h — the 45 km/h unrestricted mode isn't available out of the box
- Quoted at 2,000W, well above the 250W in the national e-bike standard (see the legal section below)
- Range and speed figures beyond what's printed on the Amazon listing come from the manufacturer's own site, not Amazon itself
- No warranty period is stated in our data for this listing

NCM (Leon Cycle)
NCM Aspen Fat Electric Bike
A fat-tyre snow/all-terrain e-bike from the same German manufacturer behind the T7s, with name-brand parts (Tektro, Shimano, RST) rather than the no-name componentry typical of this price bracket.
Why we picked the NCM Aspen Fat Electric Bike
Why it's here: of the 2 models that declare 250W and 25 km/h (NCM Aspen Fat and NCM Prague), it has the most reviews — 7, averaging 4.4 stars — and it pairs a 26" fat tyre with a front suspension fork (RST GUIDE-26). It costs $1,899.00 as of 8 October 2026. That's still a small review base, so read recent reviews on the listing.
Declared figures, as noted in our data
- Power
- 250W — rear-hub, 48V
- Top speed
- 25 km/h
- Range
- Not stated
- Battery and weight
- 624Wh battery, 38kg
✓Pros
- Established manufacturer with quality named parts: Tektro, Shimano, RST
- Fat tyres and suspension fork suited to sand, snow and loose terrain
- Removable battery with USB charging port
- Most reviews of the 2 models that declare 250W and 25 km/h (7, averaging 4.4 stars)
✕Cons
- NCM doesn't state a range figure on this listing — we won't guess one
- Heaviest e-bike in our catalogue at 38kg
- Still a small review base: 7 reviews so far
- No warranty period is stated in our data for this listing

NCM (Leon Cycle)
NCM Prague Electric Mountain Bike
The lightest e-bike in this catalogue: a 25kg cross-country-style electric mountain bike with a Bafang motor and genuine trail-riding parts from Suntour, Schwalbe and Shimano.
Why we picked the NCM Prague Electric Mountain Bike
Why it's here: it's the lowest-priced of the 2 models that declare 250W and 25 km/h, and the lightest e-bike in our catalogue at 25kg. It costs $1,499.00 as of 8 October 2026. The 2 cheaper e-bikes in our catalogue declare 1,500W to 2,000W of peak power rather than a 250W figure (see the table), which is why they aren't the budget pick here.
Only 3 reviews on this listing when we last checked it (8 October 2026), so treat the 4.7-star rating as provisional.
Declared figures, as noted in our data
- Power
- 250W — Bafang rear-drive
- Top speed
- 25 km/h
- Range
- 96km — manufacturer's best-case figure ("up to 60 miles") in Eco mode at lowest assist
- Battery and weight
- 468Wh battery, 25kg
✓Pros
- Lowest price of the 2 models that declare 250W and 25 km/h: $1,499.00
- Lightest e-bike in our catalogue at 25kg
- Genuine name-brand parts: Bafang motor, Suntour fork, Schwalbe tyres, Shimano drivetrain
✕Cons
- 468Wh battery is the smallest in this catalogue, limiting real-world range versus the claimed 96km best-case
- Mechanical (not hydraulic) disc brakes
- No warranty period is stated in our data for this listing

SAMEBIKE
SAMEBIKE RS-A02 Plus Foldable Electric Bike
A folding fat-tyre e-bike with a punchy 2400W peak motor and a 816Wh removable battery, built for riders who need to fold it into a car boot or a small apartment between rides.
Why we picked the SAMEBIKE RS-A02 Plus Foldable Electric Bike
Why it's here: it's the only folding e-bike here with a stated warranty (1 year, per the listing), it has the largest battery of the 3 folding models (816Wh) and it folds to 96cm × 74cm × 101cm. It costs $1,690.00, down from $1,890.00, as of 8 October 2026. Its listing quotes 25-45 km/h depending on riding mode; use the lower range for unregistered road/path riding.
Only 2 reviews on this listing when we last checked it (8 October 2026), so treat the 5.0-star rating as provisional.
Declared figures, as noted in our data
- Power
- 2,400W — peak power, brushless geared motor
- Top speed
- 45 km/h — 25-45 km/h depending on riding mode; use the lower range for unregistered road/path riding
- Range
- 105km — 50-55km in pure electric mode, 90-120km in pedal-assist mode per listing
- Battery and weight
- 816Wh battery, 33kg
✓Pros
- Folds to roughly 96×74×101cm — genuinely apartment- and car-boot-friendly
- States a 1-year warranty on the listing
- Listed at $1,690.00, down from $1,890.00
- Removable 816Wh battery
✕Cons
- Front suspension only, no rear shock
- At 33kg it's not a light lift once folded, despite the compact size
- Top speed of 45 km/h in unrestricted mode exceeds Australia's unregistered e-bike limit — use the slower mode for road/path riding
Check the rules before you buy: 250W and 25 km/h
In Australia, an e-bike is treated as an ordinary bicycle if it's pedal-assist only, has a motor of up to 250W continuous rated power and stops assisting at 25km/h; beyond that it can be classed as a motor vehicle that needs registration. States add their own rules on top, and the Northern Territory has its own — our state-by-state guide covers them.
A product listing can't tell us whether a particular bike meets that standard, so we don't describe any model as "road legal". NCM Aspen Fat and NCM Prague declare 250W and 25 km/h — the same figures as the standard, although their listings don't say whether the 250W is a continuous rating. The 6 models below declare more power or speed than that, or don't state a figure, so check how the rules apply to the exact model in your state before you buy.
What each of these listings declares
- Shengmilo S600pro Dual-Motor Electric Mountain Bike
Power: 2,000W — dual hub motors, 2×1000W per manufacturer spec (combined); AU listing caps speed at 25 km/h. Top speed: 25 km/h — electronically limited to 25 km/h on this AU listing for road compliance; 45 km/h unrestricted per manufacturer spec.
- SAMEBIKE RS-A02 Plus Foldable Electric Bike
Power: 2,400W — peak power, brushless geared motor. Top speed: 45 km/h — 25-45 km/h depending on riding mode; use the lower range for unregistered road/path riding.
- Shengmilo S600 Dual-Motor Electric Bike
Power: dual brushless hub motors, 2×80Nm combined torque (exact wattage not stated). Top speed: 25 km/h.
- QIKAITU Road Legal Electric Bike (K800)
Power: dual motor, 160Nm combined torque (exact wattage not stated). Top speed: 50 km/h — 50 km/h is likely to exceed unregistered e-bike speed limits in most Australian states — check local rules. The Amazon listing title reads "QIKAITU Road Legal Electric Bike (K800)" — that's the seller's wording, not ours, so check how the rules apply to this exact model before you buy.
- SAMEBIKE LO26 Plus Folding Electric Bike
Power: 2,000W — peak power. Top speed: not stated.
- SAMEBIKE LOTDM200-II Folding Electric Bike
Power: 1,500W — peak power, brushless geared motor. Top speed: 25 km/h.
Peak power is a different measure from the continuous rating used in the rules, so a listing's peak figure can't tell you on its own whether a bike complies — and a low figure doesn't prove that it does. When in doubt, ask the seller, and check with your state or territory regulator.
FAQs
Do I need a licence or registration to ride an e-bike in Australia?
Generally, an e-bike that meets the national standard (pedal-assist only, up to 250W continuous rated power, assistance cutting out at 25km/h) is treated as an ordinary bicycle, so it doesn't need registration. An e-bike that goes beyond those limits may be classed as a motor vehicle, which does. Some states add their own rules on top — Queensland, for example, has added licence and age rules from July 2026 — so confirm with your state or territory's transport regulator before you buy or ride. Note that 6 models in this guide declare more than 250W or 25km/h, or don't state a figure, so don't assume any particular bike needs no registration without checking.
What does an e-bike's motor power rating actually tell me?
Less than you'd expect, because listings quote power in different ways. Of the 8 e-bikes in this guide, 2 list 250W, 4 list 1,500W to 2,400W (3 of them explicitly as peak power) and 2 don't state a wattage. The Australian rule refers to continuous rated power, which is a different measure from peak power, so don't compare the numbers like for like. If a listing doesn't say how its figure is rated, ask the seller before you buy.
How far will these e-bikes really go on a charge?
Usually less than the headline figure. The claimed ranges here run from 45km to 120km, but each is the manufacturer's or seller's own figure, measured under different conditions (for example lowest assist level, pedal-assist or pure electric). Rider weight, hills, wind and assist level all change the result, so treat any claim as an upper limit. Battery capacity (468Wh to 1,200Wh across these e-bikes) is easier to compare like for like than the range claim.
What warranty and delivery can I expect?
Only 3 of the 8 listings state a warranty, and the terms differ: the Shengmilo S600 lists "1 year frame, 6 months motor/battery". Delivery, returns and warranty claims are set by Amazon or the seller named on each listing, and we hold few of those details, so read the seller information and delivery estimate before you check out. Dispatch times vary too: our notes say the SAMEBIKE RS-A02 Plus, SAMEBIKE LO26 Plus and SAMEBIKE LOTDM200-II listings are "usually dispatched within 6 to 7 days".
Is a cheap e-bike worth it, or should I spend more?
Prices here run from $1,390.00 to $2,299.00 as last checked (Amazon prices change, so confirm the current price). The 4 cheapest ($1,390.00 to $1,690.00) have 1 to 3 reviews each, while the best-reviewed, the Shengmilo S600pro, has 48 reviews at 4.3 stars and costs $2,299.00. Weigh review history, brakes and parts, warranty and how the rules apply to you alongside the price.
Keep reading
Affiliate disclosure: Ride Radar earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. This supports the site and doesn’t affect our ratings.